About the Board

The City Board of Ethics oversees and enforces the Public Ethics Law, which is intended "to guard against improper influence or even the appearance of improper influence, and to ensure public trust in the government."

The Ethics Board comprises five members, appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council. Each member must be “of known personal integrity” and possess “recognized knowledge and interest in government and civics.” No member may be a lobbyist, a government official or employee (other than of a college, university, or the like), or a candidate for elected public office.

Of the five members

  • One member is nominated by the President of the City Council,
  • One member is nominated by the City Comptroller, and
  • Three members, at least two of whom must be lawyers, are named by the Mayor.

The members serve staggered, 5-year terms. The Board’s Chair is elected annually by the Board from among its members.

Current Members

Stephan W. Fogleman, Chair (Term ended Dec. 31, 2020)

Stephen Fogleman






Stephan W. Fogleman has been a practicing Attorney in Maryland for over 25 years. Before being appointed to the Ethics Board in 2016, Fogleman served as Chairman of the Baltimore City Board of Liquor License Commissioners and as a Judge of the Orphans’ Court for Baltimore City. Fogleman has been active as a coach in the Baltimore Urban Debate League and the South Baltimore Youth Soccer League. He currently serves as a member of the Board of Trustees of Maryland Art Place.

Melodie Hengerer (Term ending Dec. 31, 2023)

Melodie Hengerer 






Originally from eastern North Carolina, Melodie Hengerer is a 2002 graduate of the University of Baltimore School of Law.  After practicing law in Washington, D.C., she returned to Baltimore City where she has lived and raised her two children for the past 13 years.  Ms. Hengerer worked as an Assistant City Solicitor for the Baltimore City Law Department from 2012-to 2015, during which time she represented each of the various City agencies and the Mayor and City Council.  She is currently of counsel in the Baltimore office of Baker Donelson, where she practices health law and business litigation.  In her free time,  Ms. Hengerer enjoys watching the Ravens and Orioles and spending time at Federal Hill Park with her adopted labs, Maggie and Beau.

Arnold Sampson (Term ending Dec. 31, 2024)

Arnold Sampson








Arnold Sampson is a native Baltimorean.  He was educated in City public schools and is a graduate of Morgan State College, where he received a B.S.  Mr. Sampson also received an M.S. in psychology from Howard University and completed post-master courses in psychology.  Professionally, Mr. Sampson is a licensed real estate broker and has taught pre-licensing courses for CCB, Morgan State University, and the University of Phoenix. He is also a member of the Administrative Trial Board and the Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity.   

Mr. Sampson is a decorated Vietnam Medical Evacuation Helicopter Pilot and the recipient of many awards, including the Distinguished Flying Cross, a Broken Wing Award, and two Purple Hearts.  He has also volunteered at Shake N' Bake and with the Big Brother Big Sister program, as well as having worked as an actor for many years playing the "standardized patient" for the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine and the University of Maryland School of Nursing.  In his spare time, Mr. Sampson is a marksmanship instructor and skilled Scrabble player.  

Noelle W. Newman (Term ending Dec. 31, 2026)

Ethics Board Member Noelle Newman.

Noelle W. Newman is Counsel in PK Law's General Litigation Group. Ms. Newman represents clients in various legal matters in state and federal courts, including civil matters such as property disputes, landlord tenant disputes, contract disputes, family law litigation, and appellate matters. Ms. Newman also represent clients in criminal litigation. Ms. Newman comes to the Ethics Board after fifteen years at the Baltimore City State's Attorney Office where she was appointed as Deputy States's Attorney to serve on the State's Attorney Executive Leadership team responsible for overseeing over 150 attorneys and professional administrative staff within the office.

Ms. Newman supported the State's Attorney in the management and supervision of various prosecution units and was responsible for providing guidance and advice to senior staff on issues related to the office's operations. She also assisted with the formulation of policies, objectives, and priorites for the office, as well as the strategic plans for accomplishing the office's purpose and mission. Ms. Newman developed, collaborated, and maintained partnerships with local, state, and federal public safety agencies and other stakeholders on behalf of the office, including the FBI, DEA, ATF, USPS, and United States Attorney's Office. Prior to working at the States's Attorney Office, Noelle was a Law Clerk with the Office of the Public Defender-Felony Trial Division. 

John McCauley (Term ending Dec. 31, 2027)